APCA – Portuguese Association of Automatic Control is a scientific and technical association, nonprofit, private nature, whose aim is to promote and stimulate teaching, scientific research and technological development in the field of automatic control and instrumentation, in Portugal. APCA was founded on December 5, 1994, and currently has over 150 registered members.
APCA is directed by a Steering Committee, whose members are elected every two years. The election of the members of the General Meeting, the Executive Committee and the Audit Committee is by secret ballot, direct and universal. Existing Bodies of APCA took possession after the last election that took place on July 17, 2012.

APCA organizes every two years an international conference “Portuguese Conference on Automatic Control – CONTROLO’xxxx”. Conferences CONTROLO’xxxx had its genesis in designated “1st Portuguese Conference on Automatic Control – CONTROLO’94” held between 14 and 16 September 1994 at the Instituto Superior Tecnico. This first meeting, even nationwide, had the merit of bringing together the Portuguese scientific community, research groups and industry, who performed work in the area of ​​automatic control. Since then, conferences CONTROLO’xxxx, now international in scope, have been held across the country currently attracting a significant number of participants. This event is essentially an important forum for the presentation of research work and development in the area of ​​automatic control, with the last editions showing a considerable industrial participation.

Join us!

APCA currently has more than 150 members. If you are interested in becoming an APCA member we would be delighted to welcome you!


Subscribe to our newsletter


Directive Commission

José Gonçalves
José GonçalvesPresident
Instituto Politécnico de Bragança
João Paulo Coelho
João Paulo CoelhoVice-President
Instituto Politécnico de Bragança
Manuel Braz César
Manuel Braz CésarVice-President
Instituto Politécnico de Bragança
Teresa Paula Perdicoúlis
Teresa Paula PerdicoúlisSecretary
Universidade de Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro
Paula Rocha Malonek
Paula Rocha MalonekTreasurer
Universidade do Porto

General Meeting

José Boaventura
José BoaventuraPresident
Universidade de Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro
António Eduardo de Barros Ruano
António Eduardo de Barros RuanoVowel
Universidade do Algarve
João Miranda Lemos
João Miranda LemosVowel
Universidade de Lisboa

Fiscal Council

Paulo Moura Oliveira
Paulo Moura OliveiraPresident
Universidade de Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro
Filomena Soares
Filomena SoaresRapporteur
Universidade do Minho
Alberto Jorge Lebre Cardoso
Alberto Jorge Lebre CardosoSecretary
Universidade de Coimbra

Previous Social Bodies

Directive Commission

Nome Cargo Instituição Contactos
Alberto Jorge Lebre Cardoso President Universidade de Coimbra
Paulo José Carrilho de Sousa Gil Vice-President Universidade Nova de Lisboa
Fátima Silva Leite Vice-President Universidade de Coimbra
Paulo Moura Oliveira Secretary Universidade de Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro
João Manuel Ferreira Calado Treasurer Instituto Superior de Engenharia de Lisboa

General Meeting

Nome Cargo Instituição Contactos
Filomena Maria da Rocha Menezes de Oliveira Soares President Universidade do Minho
Jorge Manuel Oliveira Henriques Vowel Universidade de Coimbra
Carlos Baptista Cardeira Vowel IST – Universidade de Lisboa

Fiscal Council

Nome Cargo Instituição Contactos
António Eduardo de Barros Ruano President Universidade do Algarve
Maria do Rosário de Pinho Rapporteur Universidade do Porto
Fernando Manuel Rosmaninho Morgado Ferrão Dias Secretary Universidade da Madeira